compass arrow


The Song of The Banjo Released

Acclaimed Banjoist Alison Brown’s New Album The Song of the Banjo Released To Raves:



Hear Brown & Keb’ Mo’ Take On Marvin Gaye’s “What’s Going On” via BILLBOARD

Headlining Show At New York’s Joe’s Pub Set For Tonight, October 14th, With Additional Dates To Follow 

song_of_the_banjo.jpgGRAMMY Award-winning banjoist ALISON BROWN’S new album, THE SONG OF THE BANJO—released Oct 9 via Compass Records—is her first in six years and has been garnering critical acclaim.Billboard says of her Marvin Gaye cover: “While Gaye’s original is soaked with sounds of R&B, Brown’s take is able to reinvent the song while keeping the soulful spirit at its core.”  The Irish Times says, “The original tunes are where the real treats lurk though, and “Musette for the Last Fret” is a master class in cool lyricism crossed with a baroque sensibility.”

The album includes an all-star cast including Indigo Girls, Keb’ Mo’, Colin Hay, ukulele virtuoso Jake Shimabukuro, and some of acoustic music’s most legendary session players including drummer Steve Gadd, fiddler Stuart Duncan, Dobro player Rob Ickes, upright bassist Todd Phillips and, on guitar and bouzouki, Irish phenom John Doyle.

With “The Song Of The Banjo,” Brown shows she can reinvent classic covers in her own style. Listeners hearing them for the first time may well see them as new standards. The Song Of The Banjois an album that reaches into the past while looking to the future. Its an album created for people who had no idea how much they love the banjo, as well as for banjo fans looking to find a new perspective on their love for the instrument.

Brown, who has been touring throughout October with dates in San Francisco and Nashville, will be headlining Joe’s Pub tonight in New York City. Additional tour dates are below.



10/14 – Joe’s Pub, New York City, NY
10/22 – Towne Crier Cafe, Beacon, NY
10/23 – Bucknell University, Lewisburg, PA
11/05 – Neighborhood Theater, Charlotte, NC
11/06 – Diana Wortham Theatre, Asheville, NC


1.The Song of the Banjo
2. Dance With Me (with ROB ICKES)
3. Carolina in the Pines (with INDIGO GIRLS)
4. A Long Way Gone
5. Windansea
6. Time After Time
7. Stuff Happens
8. I’ll Never Fall in Love Again (with COLIN HAY)
9. Airish
10. Feels So Good (with JAKE SHIMABUKURO)
11. The Moon in Molly’s Eyes
12. Musette for the Last Fret

Deluxe Edition Bonus Track: What’s Going On? (with KEB’ MO’)


Alison Brown Online:


Artist Page